Skip to content

A Very Powerful Testimony From North Korea

November 30, 2010

Recently, at the Third Lausanne Congress that took place in Cape Town, South Africa, an 18 year-old girl from North Korea shared her testimony.

If you are asking the question, what is this congress thingy you speak of, have no fear, I will tell you.  Oh, and don’t feel bad if you’ve never heard about it because I didn’t know anything about it until earlier this year. In 1974, this global gathering was initiated by Billy Graham and other world leaders of the time. Lausanne is committed to initiating and developing  “a worldwide movement that mobilizes evangelical leaders to collaborate for world evangelization.” The meeting in Cape Town included over 4000 leaders from around the world who came to discuss the challenges that Christians globally are facing and how the church can rise to meet them.

Having watched the video of her sharing, I can tell you it is extremely powerful.  I think it is a great illustration of how God moves in events and circumstances of our lives.  Her story shows what a life given to God is supposed to look like.  A life that seeks to glorify God above all else and a heart that breaks for the same things that break God’s heart.

She ends her talk with these words:

I look back over my short life and see God’s hand everywhere. Six years in North Korea, 11 years in China, and a time of being here in South Korea…Everything that I experienced and love, I want to give it all to God and use my life for His kingdom. I hope to honor my father and to bring glory to my heavenly Father by serving God with my whole heart.

…I believe God’s heart cries out for the lost people of North Korea.  I humbly ask you, my brothers and sisters here in this place, to have the same heart of God.  Please pray that the same light of God’s grace and mercy that reached my father and my mother and now me will one day come down upon the people of North Korea… my people.

Let’s be clear, North Korea ranks at the top of the list of countries when it comes to the oppression and persecution of Christians.  In spite of the cost, her father went there twice in order to bring the love of God to his fellow countrymen and she now wants to go back and do the same.  Sadly, this is the complete opposite of how most Christians in America live their lives.  Christians here believe in a “god” that wants everything to be comfortable and safe and wants to give them everything they want and desire.  They think it is all about them and that their faith revolves around them.  We ask questions like, “What will I get out of it?” and “What does that mean for me?”  This is NOT the God of the Bible and this is NOT the life that Jesus calls us to.  Go back and read the gospels and pay special attention to what Jesus says.  You will discover that Jesus calls us to abandon everything, our needs, our desires, even our lives.  The question we should be asking is, “What will bring God the most glory?”

It is an amazing story that I think you should watch.

 

(via desiringGod)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

