Skip to content

Church Signs Part Deux

March 9, 2011

First a ridiculous one. The other day I saw the following on a sign in front of a church:

Having trouble with truth decay? Brush up on the Word

I am going to give this a rating of 4 out 5 on the cheese factor scale

4 out of 5

On a more serious note, I saw another sign in front of a church that said:

Today is the perfect day to come to Christ

At first look the statement seemed like a good one. Every day is a great day for someone to accept Christ. We all know friends or family members who have said something to the effect of “I am happy with my life right now. Maybe in the future I will believe in God.” So, in this sense, the statement on the sign is correct.

However, there is a problem with the statement. Sadly, I think it reflects the mentality of many in the American Church. This mentality is that now that I am a Christian I don’t need to do anything but go to church on Sunday and people will come to Christ on their own. That is not to say that we save people. No, that is God’s job. I had a professor who once said “Your job is to tell people about Jesus and love them. God’s job is to draw them, convict them, and save them. You will never accomplish God’s job and he is not going to do your job.” We are such selfish creatures. We get salvation and we get heaven and we think, ok, I got what I came for, now it is time to sit back and relax. But the Bible is very clear that our faith was never meant to be private or passive. It was always meant to be public and active. Very active.

Because of this I think the statement should be changed to:

Today is the perfect day to tell someone about Christ

Seriously, if I saw that statement on a sign outside of a church, I would feel convicted. It would remind me that my job is to share the gospel with others daily and when I’m not doing that I am not fully living out the life that God wants me to. It would remind me that there are people in my own life that need Jesus and God has placed me in their lives to tell them about him.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

