Skip to content

What’s new in my life

March 17, 2011

So the other day I was called out by a friend (who shall remain nameless, but may or may not blog at if she wants to rock she rocks) that I do not write about what is going on in my life.

Well, today I am going to change that.

The following is a list of things currently happening in my life. Why a list you ask? I have no idea. Just go with it.

1. I am currently reading through the Bible in a year with a friend. A few thoughts. This is the first time I tried this and two and half months in, I will say that it has been both easier and harder than I thought. I have enjoyed it immensely, but I keep getting behind and it is tough to catch up. Also, the plan we are using might just be crazy. It had us reading leviticus in two days. What? Yes. Ridiculous.

2. Last November I was asked, accepted, and voted onto the Board of Directors for an organization called Ultimate Goal Ministries. They use soccer as a tool to work with under-resourced kids, especially refugees. I really believe in the mission and vision of the ministry. I am excited to see where it goes over the next year. However, I think I am way too young to be on the Board of Directors of any organization and I think they made a terrible mistake, but hey, that’s their problem.

3. I am coaching once again in the rec league for Ultimate Goal. This time, because there were only enough kids for one team in teh U-12 age group, I am coaching a U-8 team. Yeah, that should be interesting. I have never coached soccer to kids less than 10 years old. The upside this time around is that I have a few assistant coaches.

4. This is the first year in a long time that I did not do a bracket for March Madness. I think it has made game watching that much more fun, because now I can just watch the game without having to cheer for some random team to win just to keep my hopes of winning alive.

5. I am currently reading a book called Shake Hands With the Devil: The Failure of Humanity in Rwanda. It is the autobiography of Lt. Gen. Romeo Dallaire, who was the UN Force Commander in Rwanda when the genocide occurred. It might be one of the hardest books I have ever read. I can only read one chapter a week, because I get so angry when I read it. There are a few reasons for this. First, how the rest of the world, knowing what was happening, could just sit idly by and do nothing or do just enough to get their own citizens out and no more. Secondly, how people could be so evil as to plan and carry out killing as many people as they did. Many people ask me why I read books like this and the reason, honestly, is because I want to understand the world and events that have happened because other events like them will happen again.

6. I am also reading a book called The Voice of the Heart: A Call to Full Living by Chip Dodd. It is all about learning to understand and talk about the emotions you are feeling. The premise of the book is that we were created by God as emotional and spiritual creatures, but our culture has told us bottle up our feeling and not to talk about them and that this has led to people just surviving in life and not living fully. I am only in chapter 4 and it has been good so far, although, I’m not the biggest fan of his writing style.

7. What has God been teaching me? Tons. First, learning what is means to trust him, because let’s be honest, I don’t. Reading through the Old Testament it is easy to jump all over the Israelites for the lack of faith and trust in God and how they kept going to other gods to help them. But in all reality, I am seeing just how much I do this every day of my life. I look to myself, friends, and others instead of God. I talk about trusting God a lot, but then I don’t step out into anything in my life which would actually require me to trust him and not just rely on myself. To be honest, I feel like my faith is way too small. I feel like I am at the ocean and have put my feet in the water and think that that is life. I see the entire ocean out there in front me and I “know” the full life comes with jumping in, fear, lack of faith, trust, and hope, all keep me from doing it. I have been talking a lot with people about this lately, but I feel like in the Church, and especially in my own life, we don’t really believe and trust that what God said in his Word is true. Because if we did, we would live our lives completely differently from how we do.

Ok, I think I have written enough for now.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolyn Cantwell permalink
    March 17, 2011 8:40 pm

    Hey Jon,

    Thank you for responding to your friend’s request…interesting stuff. I recall hearing Lt Dallaire on a “Frontline” episode on Public TV after the genocide…he was so impressive, so wounded by the lack of will of the world/UN…he was hamstrung by an impotent, silent world.
    I would offset that reading with something a bit lighter…:^)

    We did rent “How to Train your Dragon,” on your recommendation…it was great…amazing animation.

  2. Shanda permalink
    March 17, 2011 10:26 pm

    1. Who would ask “why a list?” A list is never a bad idea.
    2. (in reference to 1) Ridiculous. I’ll give you that.
    3. (in reference to 6) Great. Now I have another book to add to my list.
    4. (in reference to 7) Oh the learning… I hope it never ends. I wonder if it will ever get easier. Probably not.

  3. March 18, 2011 12:58 am

    🙂 your soul is beautiful.
    you should share it more often.
    #7’s my favorite.

  4. March 18, 2011 10:33 pm

    Great life update. I really, really want to be you when I grow up. Come see us, we miss you.

Leave a Reply

