Skip to content

1 Samuel

May 7, 2011

As some of you know I have been reading through the bible in a year and while I am far past 1 Samuel, I never got around to finishing and posting this. But here it is.

Two things really stuck out to me in this book.

First, the story of how Saul is anointed king over Israel. This is 1 Samuel 10:20-24:

Then Samuel brought all the tribes of Israel near, and the tribe of Benjamin was taken by lot. He brought the tribe of Benjamin near by its clans, and the clan of the Matrites was taken by lot; and Saul the son of Kish was taken by lot. But when they sought him, he could not be found. So they inquired again of the LORD, “Is there a man still to come?” and the LORD said, “Behold, he has hidden himself among the baggage.” Then they ran and took him from there. And when he stood among the people, he was taller than any of the people from his shoulders upward. And Samuel said to all the people, “Do you see him whom the LORD has chosen? There is none like him among all the people.” And all the people shouted, “Long live the king!”

Saul was taken by lot, but the people couldn’t find him. So they inquire of the Lord, and the Lord says the funniest thing, “Behold, he has hidden himself among the baggage.”

He is in the baggage? Really? I have this mental image of a huge mountain of bags and in the middle, looking out, are these two little eyes. Then over the PA system you hear, “Saul, your party is waiting for you. Saul, your party is waiting for you.”

Then the people go and grab him, from out of the baggage, and then he is anointed king and all the people shout “Long live the king.” Really? You have no problems having a king that was so scared he hid in the baggage? Something doesn’t seem right to me. However, I see this in my all the time. Ok, yes, I don’t anoint a king most days (cause that would just be odd), but I do put other things in my life in place of God even though I know they aren’t as good.

On a completely different topic, do you ever have those times when you are reading in the Bible and all of a sudden you stop because you are not sure that you just read what you think you just read?

I had one of those times when I read 18:17-30. In this passage, Saul finds out that his daughter, Michal, is in love with David and so he plans to use this to his advantage, by getting David to put himself in harms way and then get himself killed. He has his servants go to David and say “The king desires no bride-price except a hundred foreskins of the Philistines, that he may be avenged of the king’s enemies.”

Wait, what???

A hundred foreskins of the Philistines? Seriously? That is just wrong on so many levels.

Why didn’t Saul just say, I want you to go and kill one hundred Philistines and bring me a finger from each, or a hand, or even their head? Any of those put David in just as much harm and make much more sense. But foreskins?

I just don’t get it.

If I were David, I would have said “negative ghostrider, the pattern is full” and walked away.

What does David do? He goes above and beyond what was asked of him and kills two hundred Philistines and brings their foreskins to Saul.

Odd. So very odd.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

