Skip to content

And the season is over

May 22, 2011

Yesterday my kids ended their season with a 6-3 win. Overall their record was 5-0-1. Not bad at all.

I was really happy to get a win today, one because it was the last game, but also because the other coach was from the same hometown as me and now I have bragging rights until next season. I had a lot of fun coaching these kids despite the fact that I have never coached kids this young before. They were all 7 and 8 years old and I have only ever coached 11-15 year olds before. There were times it was extremely stressful and frustrating, but in the end, watching the kids learn more that just the game of soccer, mature and play better, it was worth it.

That’s not to say the my 10-12 year olds the last two seasons weren’t a bit crazy, but they could at least focus for extended periods of time. I felt like with this team it was craziness interspersed with little bits of focus. Oh well, what are you going to do? Well, if you are smart, you get their parents to help coach and then the parents take care of the discipline, mwahahaha. But I had to learn that the hard way.

Here is a picture of the Blue Lightening. I tried to get them to name the team the crazy little munchkins or the blue hooligans, but they weren’t having any of it. Oh well, maybe next time.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2011 3:39 pm

    SO SWEEEEEEEEET. Your little friends!!! 🙂

    And yes! I LOVE bragging rights.
    May you be feared & revered for a long, long off-season.

Leave a Reply

