Skip to content

What happens when I try to draw

July 26, 2011

There are times when something pops into my head and I think, “I should draw that.” Below is normally what happens when I engage in such activities:

1. I convince myself that I can draw said object. I tell myself things like, “that seems simple,” “piece of cake,” other people have done it, so can I.”

2. I begin to rotate the object around in my head, looking at it from all sides, sizing it up, deciding how I want to go about tackling this project.

4. I start to break down the object into a number of steps that involve drawing smaller, bite size pieces.

5. I start to draw. There is a flourish of activity, with lots of hope and excitement for what is about to be unleashed on the world. Because, people need to see this. It is going to be amazing. Soon it will be hanging in a museum.

6. It doesn’t take long before I start slowing down, pondering more than I am drawing. But I press on and finish.

7. I quickly realize that what I have drawn looks nothing like what is in my head. In fact, it doesn’t look like anything recognizable at all. Some of you might say, “art is in the eye of the beholder,” but what I am beholding looks dumb. In reality though, “art is in the eye of the owner of lots of money who get to dictate what is considered art by donating a large amount to an art museum with the condition that they house the donor’s collection of rare finger paintings.” So, all I need to do is either become rich or find a rich person who thinks my drawing is art. It could happen.

8. I resign myself to the fact that I cannot draw and move on.

A few days later something pops into my head…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolyn Cantwell permalink
    July 26, 2011 5:02 pm

    Thanks for making me smile…needed it today…now go draw something…:^)

    • July 26, 2011 10:03 pm

      I’m glad you found it entertaining

  2. July 27, 2011 11:37 am

    I have the same thought process! However, I do think we need to see some of your drawings, when is that going to happen. There are lots of cyberspace people who are rich…just sayin’.

    • July 27, 2011 11:41 am

      Seriously, nobody needs to see my attempts to draw. Little kids who just draw squiggly lines all over the paper would laugh at my drawings.

  3. July 27, 2011 11:44 am

    That’s to be determined…don’t stifle your creativity…:)

  4. July 28, 2011 12:24 am

    I want to see some examples. Thanks.

  5. Bekah permalink
    July 28, 2011 10:49 am

    I agree with above. Samples must be shown in order that someone beyond yourself might weigh in on the art.

Leave a Reply

