Skip to content

An interview that may change how you view people

April 26, 2013

We tend to make snap judgments about the people we come in contact with everyday. This may come across in how we look at them, our body language, or what we say to them.

Sadly, most of our perceptions of others, their situation, and why they are there are usually highly flawed.

As Mr. Davis says in the video, the way people view him is not who he really is and how he views himself: “It’s really humiliating to be shaking a cup 24 hours a day, and people just look at you like you’re some kind of little bum…I’ve had people walk past me and say, ‘Get a job bum’ and I say wait a second, I’m not a bum, I’m a human being.”

My wife didn’t grow up with a lot. There was a period of a few years where her family went without a car and they had to take their laundry to the laundromat either pulled in a wagon or carried in pillow cases. She felt the stares, looks of people, and their judgments of her and her family. This is how she retells it:

I walked slower than everyone else… on purpose… I wanted to lag behind because well, I just wasn’t happy with the situation… We walked the back way through the shopping center, behind Vien Dong (the Vietnamese grocery store we shopped at).  Three men sat on the brick wall drinking from paper bags. They were snickering about the little family with laundry in a wagon.  My family was several yards in front of me at this point.  They may have even been around the corner.  One of the men hopped off the wall and started walking towards me.  He turned to his drinking pals and said, “they look too clean to be homeless” and then… he sniffed me… and said, “smells clean too.  I don’t know.”  Then, laughing, he found his way back to his wall.

I felt worthless.  Honestly.  I did.  I walked into the laundromat, handed my mom my pillowcase full of laundry and said, “I have to go to the bathroom.”  I walked into the not so clean public restroom, locked the door, sunk down to the floor, and wept.  In those few minutes I remember being angry with God for allowing me to be born.  Maybe a dramatic reaction to a drunk man behind a grocery store… but I felt it… and for so many reasons, that day I really felt like things would be better if I had just never existed.

The way we view people can have a big effect on how those people view and feel about themselves. We need to be more aware of our actions and what those actions are saying to those we interact with.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 10, 2013 7:41 am

    This is an eye opener ‘handswideopen’!!! To see others through His eyes.

Leave a Reply

