Skip to content

Life with an infant

December 15, 2014
tags: ,

So it was brought to my attention the other day by a really good friend that I haven’t posted here in quite a while. Guilty as charged. It is not for lacking of desire. I have tons of ideas and topics I would like to write about, but there have been two problems: 1) non-existent free time and 2) when I do have free time, I can’t seem to get the thoughts in my head out on paper.

If you read my last post you will know why I haven’t had a lot of free time.

In one word: Evan.

Our little one is just shy of 7 months old. Caring for him has been more work than I could ever have possibly imagined. Before Evan was born, people would tell me all the time that having a kid changes everything, but until you actually have a kid, you have no foundation from which to understand what they mean. I would think, sure it will be a lot of work, but I will still be able to do X (I hear lots of parents laughing at this. I know. I know). There is a not a single aspect of our lives that he hasn’t changed. Going into another room, taking a shower, going to the store, eating, sleeping. Everything now goes through the filter of: who is watching the baby? Where is he in his cycle? Does he need a diaper change? Food? Sleep? Also, he hates the car. Why oh why couldn’t he just love the car seat? But nooooo, he can’t stand it. He screams the whole time. And he gets freaked out by sudden or loud noises, so don’t raise your voice to talk to someone in another room or laugh suddenly, it won’t end well.

And yet, it has been one of the most rewarding times of my life. Every day I come home and as soon as he sees me, he lights up and starts laughing and babbling (and sometimes reaches for me). Who wouldn’t love that? And it has been fun to watch him grow and gain a distinct personality, which includes growling quite loudly whenever he wants something that he cannot have and/or reach.

All of this to say….I am going to try harder to post things on this blog. It may simply be snippets of articles I really enjoyed, but something is better than nothing. If nothing else, I will just post pictures of Evan so that you are so distracted by his cuteness you will forget I haven’t posted anything.

Speaking of pictures, here are few of the little man:

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

